Nominations for Diocesan Committees

We will elect representatives to several diocesan committees at this year’s convention. Anyone may nominate him- or herself, or another person. We ask, however, that if you are nominating someone else, you contact that person first.

We will also elect Deputies to General Convention, to be held in Baltimore, Md., June 30–July 9, 2021. The four nominees receiving the most votes will be deputies; the next four will be alternates.

Deputies must be confirmed adult communicants (at least 16 years old) in good standing. They are also required to attend a Province VII meeting in Spring 2021.

Online nominations will remain open through Friday, Feb. 7. Nominations will then be accepted from the floor of convention on Saturday, Feb. 15.

All elections will take place during the business session on Saturday, Feb. 15, except for the convocational elections for Executive Council, which will take place by convocation before the main business session.

Offices to Be Filled

  • Executive Council

    The following Executive Council position will be elected by the body of convention during the Saturday business session:

    • 1 lay representative.


    Convocations will vote Saturday morning, before the main business session, on the following positions:

    • 1 lay representative for Southeast Convocation;
    • 1 clergy representative for Southwest Convocation; and
    • 1 clergy representative for Central Convocation.

  • Standing Committee

    • 1 lay representative; and
    • 1 clergy representative.

  • Board of Trustees

    • 1 lay representative; and
    • 1 clergy representative.

  • Camp Mitchell Board of Trustees

    • 1 representative, either lay or clergy.

  • Disciplinary Board

    • 2 clergy representatives.

  • Sewanee Board of Trustees

    • 1 clergy representative.

Nominate Someone Now

Descriptions of Committees

The Executive Council is responsible, along with the bishop, of the oversight of the diocese. It approves the diocesan budget and establishes diocesan policies. It meets six times per year to advise the bishop and support the ministry of the Episcopal Church in Arkansas. Term (unless otherwise noted): 3 years.

The Standing Committee serves as an advice council to the bishop. It is responsible for approving all ordinations to the priesthood or diaconate. It also approves the encumbrance of sale of any real estate owned by the diocese, a parish, or a mission. In the event that there is no bishop, the committee serves as this diocese's ecclesiastical authority. Clergy members of the committee must be residents of the diocese for at least three years. Lay members must be at least 24 years old, confirmed communicants, and residents of the diocese for at least three years. Term (unless otherwise noted): 3 years.

The Board of Trustees is the Bishop's principal advisory committee in the investment and management of the capital funds and assets of the Diocese. Members must be adult communicants in good standing and residents of the diocese, and should have knowledge of and experience in investments and money management. Term (unless otherwise noted): 6 years.

The Camp Mitchell Board of Trustees is in charge of the management of the camp, setting camp policy and overseeing the work of the camp's executive directors. The Camp Mitchell Board shall consist of 11 members: one elected from the Episcopal Youth Community, five elected at large from the Diocese, and five appointed by the Bishop. The Bishop, or his or her designee, shall serve as an ex officio member of the board. Term (unless otherwise noted): 3 years.

The Disciplinary Board receives any complaints about misconduct on the part of a member of the clergy, and then decides, in conjunction with the bishop, what further action is needed to resolve the issue. Members must be adult communicants in good standing and residents of the diocese. Term (unless otherwise noted): 3 years.

The University of the South (Sewanee) Board of Trustees gathers each October to approve the election of the university's regents and take any other action deemed necessary by the school's by-laws. Lay members must be communicants of the diocese. Learn more at Sewanee's website. Term (unless otherwise noted): 3 years.